Tags

, , , , ,

Here are the clothes I bought in August:

BB August 2013

Sorry about the low quality of the photograph, that was the best lighting I could find at the time since it was a gloomy day. I definitely need to get a camera other then the one on my cellphone.

  1. Striped long sleeve sweater from Urban Planet: $12.50 – 10% off + tax = $12.71
  2. Grey Opened Front Knit Cardigan from H&M (exact but in other colours): $24.95 + tax = $28.19
  3. American Eagle Knit Sweaters from Winners: 2 x $16.00 (compared to $30.00 each at AE) + tax = $38.40
  4. Lace Layering Tee from EXPRESS (seen here): $29.90 + tax = $33.79
  5. Convertible Sleeve Portofino from EXPRESS  in Love Stripe and Lavish Purple: 1 x $59.90 + 1 x $29.90 + tax = $101.47
  6. Stella Low Rise Skinny Legging from EXPRESS: $69.90 – 40% off + tax = $47.40

AUGUST TOTAL: $261.96 (Original Price: $358.57)

TOTAL BUDGET FOR 2013: $565 ($500 + 13% HST)

TOTAL BUDGET REMAINING: $303.04

This is my very first budgeting bloggers post and I am already way over my monthly budget.

This was the month of back to school and fall shopping. My orientation week at school starts on the 31st but my first class is not until September 5. My goal when shopping for back to school was to fill in as many wardrobe holes as possible and still pick up pieces that interested me. I went on four different shopping trips but only bought something on three of the trips.

The striped sweater from Urban Planet was an impulse buy – I bought it because I have a similar one in red, black, and grey that I really enjoy wearing and Mr. BMW approved of it.

The grey open front cardigan from H&M has been on my wish list for at least half a year because they are all over pinterest. I feel like this will be the perfect sweater in the fall and winter and will definitely become a staple.

The American Eagle knit sweaters at Winners were definitely something I have been looking to buy for a while now. Last year I fell in love with my black, grey, and white sweaters and knew I wanted to pick up a red one. When I saw the tan/brown colourway, I just could not leave it. I plan to get a lot of wear out of these in the holiday season.

The lace top from EXPRESS was too beautiful to leave behind. I had been looking for a short sleeve, lined lace top for a few months and while this shirt is neither short sleeve nor lined it definitely fills that closet hole. I have already worn the top once and can not wait to wear it again.

The two Portofino shirts were impulse buys – I fell in love with the love print and for the sale I found I could not leave the purple one behind. I love wearing sheer, chiffon shirts in the fall and winter. Because I have a lot of red in my closet, I wanted to add other colours (and purple looks stunning on me).

The STELLA jeans were another impulse buy. I do need new jeans as a few of my older pairs were beginning to become very faded. The first time I wore these, I absolutely love how comfortable they are. I definitely plan to buy more in other washes if they ever go on a larger discount.

Overall I am happy with my purchases this month even though I will not be able to wear most of these until the weather cools down.

The Plan for September:

Hopefully in September I will be too distracted by school to do much shopping. If I do fail to resist the temptation then I plan to spend that money either purchasing an item on my wishlist or filling my closet holes.

One of my main goals for September is to find a red cardigan as my old standby has become worn out – this has been hard because the only shade of red I have been able to find in cardigans is maroon/burgundy. Another goal I have is to buy a patterned summer-fall dress that is NOT predominately blue. I have recently gotten back into the idea of wearing dresses for casual occasions but everything I have is mainly blue! I would also love to find a few more printed or solid casual skirts that are a more modest length then what I already own.

I also plan to do a thrift store challenge sometime in the next few months – maybe trying to purchase an entire outfit for only $20 or to see how many pieces of clothing I can find that I love within a small spending limit?

With only $75.76 a month remaining I definitely need to think through my purchases more thoroughly – especially considering I am hoping to do some online Black Friday/Cyber Monday shopping in November and some online Boxing Day shopping in December.

– – – – –

I am linking up with Franish for Budgeting Bloggers – check out if anyone else failed to follow their budget like me!

