As today is the last Friday of my Summer Break, I figured I would do a recap of my favourite and most played songs from this summer. I plan on doing this monthly or every few months to look back on – like a miniature time capsule in songs…

Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke featuring T.I. + Pharrell – The perfect summer driving song – it was very hard to not dance whenever this song came on

Get Lucky by Daft Punk ft. Pharrell William –  Another great driving song.

Clarity by Zed ft Foxes –  Great song for singing at the top of your lungs on a late night drive

Same Love by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Mary Lambert: I cried every time the following lyric came on: “If you preach hate at the service, those words aren’t anointed / And that Holy Water that you soak in has been poisoned”.

Love Somebody by Maroon 5 – Because I absolutely love the lyric: “But if I fall for you, I’ll never recover / If I fall for you, I’ll never be the same” and because I have loved all of Maroon 5’s recent music.

Just Give Me a Reason by P!nk ft. Nate Ruess –  The first time I heard this, I was going over to my boyfriend’s house and it brought me to tears. I am so happy to have such a supportive man in my life.

The Other Side by Jason Derulo –  Another song I love to blast on late night drives.

Cruise by Florida Georgia Line – Because nothing is better than cruising with that special someone (also the original is way better then the remix with Nelly) and this song reminds me of college.

Don’t Ya by Brett Eldredge – The chorus is just so catchy and it is such an upbeat song! I only just started listening to this a few weeks ago and I love it already.

Crash My Party by Luke Bryan – Because who doesn’t want a man who will drop everything just to spend time with you?

Wagon Wheel by Darius Rucker – Another light hearted, happy song. Perfect for those sunny, hot summer days.

Mine Would Be You by Blake Shelton – Love song + Blake Shelton; does it get any better? Someone I worked with is using this as her first dance on her upcoming wedding – I think it is a perfect first dance song.

Hey Pretty Girl by Kip Moore – This is seriously the most perfect love song I have ever heard. It is impossible to not cry at the end of this song. I want my relationship to be like that.

Merry Go Round by Kacey Musgrave –  Describes perfectly how life can be for you if you do not put in the effort to follow your dreams and instead accept what life gives you.

Sure Be Cool if You Did by Blake Shelton This was one of the first songs of the summer that was on constant repeat

Mama’s Broken Heart by Miranda Lambert – Because I love a song about strong women and their revenge against their exes.

Downtown by Lady Antebellum – This song has such an addicting beat and I love the sass that Hillary Scott shows in her singing.

Two Black Cadillacs by Carrie Underwood – I love songs that tell a story. Also do not cheat on Carrie Underwood: she will either destroy your car or kill you.

– – – – – – – – – –

This summer I discovered my local country music station which became my favourite station to listen to which is why there are so many country songs on this list! Also, throughout April and May I had a twenty minute commute each way to my externship so I had a lot of time to listen to music.

What were some of your favourite songs to listen to this summer?

